1960 Whitcraft House Boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by ebes54, Jun 24, 2008.

1. ebes54

ebes54 Junior Member

Hi All,

I'm new to the thread and the prospect of houseboat owning. Currently I'm looking at a 36' 1960 Steel Hull Whitcraft. The boat appears to be in decent shape considering it's pushing 50 years old.

However, given the age there are some issues that need to be dealt with.
    1.) There is rusting occuring on the deck. Most of it is surface rust that would not require a great deal of work with to eliminate. However, where the deck meets the wooden top section of the boat there is more significant rust damage and a couple small spots where it is rusted through. I haven't seen the interior of the hull and I think that will be more telling when I see that. If the interior is relatively dry I think I can resolve the rust issues. Is there somethign that I'm missing? I can see a spots where the current owner has the hull caulked.
    2.) The wall on the starboard side is loose and it appears that it is detached some what. If I push on it it wobbles. This concerns me too.

If I decide to buy the boat my repair plans are as follows (most of them I hope to do over the winter months while the boat is in drydock)...
    1.) Remove all wooden trim, sand and water seal the walls, and recover the entire boat exterior with milkboard. Replace wood trim with aluminum trim
    2.) Weld a 3"x3" piece of 1/4' thick angle steel around the base of the top section to seal off the rust damage.
    3.) Examine the underside for pitting and rust and repair/replace as needed.
    4.) Paint the entire hull with a rust stopping paint (top and bottom). I'm not sure what/how to do this so some pointers would be nice.
    5.) Fix the starboard wall (not sure how yet)

In the future I would consider doing the following...
    1.) Add a lift for a dingie or PWC