Books, boat, sails, questions, warning newbie!

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by aurrida, Mar 9, 2010.

1. aurrida

aurrida New Member

Hello everyone,

Briefly, I am a brit living in Germany, northern Baveria.

I consider myself a novice sailor that has completed RYA dinghy and yacht courses but I have little additional experience, though I have occasionally crewed for a friend and his Snipe 15.

I am a competent woodworker.

I am here because I would like to build a small STABLE sailing dinghy about 4-5 metres long.

It will be sailed by two people one being 100 kilo on small inland lakes.

Questions:

1. I have seen the plans for the Goat Island Skiff, what do people think? Any other ideas would be welcome.

2. I am concidering buying two books, Boat building for Beginners (and Beyond): Everything You Need to Know to Build a Sailboat, a Rowboat, a Motorboat, a Canoe, and More [With Plans] - Jim Michalak and Devlin's Boatbuilding: How to Build Any Boat the Stitch-and-Glue Way - Samual Devlin. Again any recommendations welcome.

3. I have done a little homework into building the hull I know nothing about the sails, are they included in the boat plans and do I make them myself?

4. I can buy a used dinghy for 2-3 thousand with a trailer. I know building my own will not necessarily be cheaper but how will it compare price wise.

Well that's a start, thanks in advance for any help.

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

You can always get more boat if you buy used. The idea of building your own boat is about the satisfaction of the building experience and/or having exactly what you want. Not like building a house, which saves thousands.
    Fairly or unfairly, boats generally lose value more like cars than houses.
    There are thousands of designs out there, and full size patterns, and kits.