1959 fiberglass boat

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by boat3307, Jun 2, 2016.

1. boat3307

boat3307 New Member

Hello all, I am new to boat design so bare with me. I have just received this 1959 fiberglass boat that was my grandfather's. I will be using it 1-2 times per month on local freshwater. I want to paint the entire outside of the boat and need to know where to begin. I have already cleaned the outside thoroughly. I want to paint it all white but do not know what type/ brand paint to use, steps , methods etc. It has never been painted before. Any help is greatly appreciated.

2. BobBill

BobBill Senior Member

Sand the cleaned surface, say with a decent orbiting variable speed sander, keeping it moving to avoid gouges...

Paint: Could use a good house paint (not sure if water base or oil) or a deck paint from "ipaint" like Mega gloss, lwhich I have used. It is decent. Remember, the hull will be subject to the slings and arrows of use and after a bit, acceptable to most people.

The hull is likely solid glass and, assuming hull is dry most of the time on a trailer, the paint choice should not be difficult.

In any case, I would roll (foam roller) on paint in small areas, say 2 square feet and then tip smooth with decent dry brush over surface into previous wet paint to limit "curtains" and create smoother surface.

I use the ipaint Mega brand and thin with naptha to give smooth, more or less mark-free finish.

Work fast; do not go back to past section to fix, sanding and wiping between coats will do that...

How you separate areas is up to you, but maybe best to do in length sections, say bottom and transom, a side and deck, if any, so blending is not so obvious.

Remember that the paint will magnify flaws, though the lighter hue will help make it look better.

Hope the above helps

3. boat3307

boat3307 New Member

thanks bobbill

a few more questions