CB/CG location with respect to CE/CLR

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by Okhsar, Feb 9, 2023.

1. Okhsar

Okhsar New Member

This is my first posting and will appreciate your comments. I am new to boat design. I have been researching and studying sailboat design concepts for the past 6 months. One question is bugging me and I can not find a reference document explaining it. I understand the CB has to be inline with CG and CE has to be inline with CLR (at least in static conditions). However, I can not figure out the relationship of CB/CG line to CE/CLR line. Should these be designed to align longitudinally, forward or aft of each other? Does the location of CLF impact the above relationship? Thanks,

2. DCockey

DCockey Senior Member

Correct, for the float as designed.

A boat at rest always has CG and CB in vertical alignment. That is needed for the boat to be in equilibrium, the same as the weight of the volume of water displaced by the boat equals the weight of the boat, and is due to physics. Put a boat in the water and it will sink/rise until the displacement equals the weight, and trim and heel until CG and CB are in vertical alignment. (Note that the CB location changes as the boat rises/sinks, trims and heels.)

Incorrect. This is completely different than and unrelated to the hydrostatic equilibrium conditions described above.