Fiberglass disaster

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by rassy, Jul 27, 2012.

1. rassy

rassy Junior Member

Hello everyone:)

I'm new to this forum and new to boatbuilding, as well.

To make a long story short, I decided about a year ago that I want to build a small boat for myself. So I studied alot of aspects of what I wanted for about a year before I started my project.

Things have gone very nicely so far, albeit very slowly, until today. Today I started the fiberglass and, right now, I'm very frustrated. I've just spent the better part of 5 hours trying to fibreglass my boat and I've had it. It's not even a fifth done! The bit that is done looks crazy, like my boat is in need of a good shave. There's fiberglass hairs all over the place on the floor, chunked up in in areas, and I ended up covered with the stuff. And where there's corners, there's air trapped. I tried cutting the corners with a boxcutter but that doesn't seem to want to work without wrecking it even more, even though the expoxy should have gelled enough by the time I got to that.

Up until this point, I feel I've been doing very well and my boat looked pretty good. But I have given up on this fiberglassing thing. I just can't do it, I have the wrong stuff, or I'm doing it terribly wrong. I used a plastic spreader mostly, tried it with a brush and a roller (but that just gets clumps of fiber-hair stuck to them), and I've tried cutting and dipping the fiberglass itself. The only problem I didn't have was keeping it in place - that part went fine.