boat material / furniture material

Discussion in 'Materials' started by bogeyinthekeys, Sep 8, 2005.

1. bogeyinthekeys

bogeyinthekeys Junior Member

Hi there,

I am new at this and am trying to educate myself on possible materials that I might use for a furniture design as it may relate to boat design process. I need to find a material that is flexible(1/4" to 1" in thickness), and that can be bend to different radiuses to fit into a jig. I guess the form could be hardened with an epoxy. The stool must also accomodate the weight of the person sitting on it.

Can anyone help me out ?

Heidi

2. Bergalia

Bergalia Senior Member

furniture materials

Bogie - most long grained timbers (especially pine) when steamed can be bent with care. But for making a stool, cane when steamed, bends easiest of all. However its boat building qualities are questionable (without a ton of caulking).
    If you're working with 1/4 inch thickenesses try a decent ply, and laminate it to build up strength. Now that, you can use for boat building. :cool:

3. JR-Shine

JR-Shine SHINE

you can also laminate 3/16" mahogany of meranti plywood over a honeycomb (3/4") core. It would be very light and strong.

4. John ilett

John ilett Senior Member

There are quite a few varietys of honeycomb type core panels made just for this. Cores can be coated paper, nomex honeycomb, alloy honeycomb, plastic honeycomb etc. Skins can be fglass, alloy, formica, etc.

I have worked with the glass skinned alloy honeycomb which you can rout or cut grooves in one face then bend on a jig with a filler in the cuts. Once set it stays.

http://www.plascore.com/

http://www.tricelcorp.com/

http://www.nida-core.com/default.asp

Of course there are plenty of ways to make a bent sandwich also, foam, ply, glass..............

5. nero

nero Senior Member

Or you can laminate thin strips of wood with epoxy. Add some uni-directional fiberglass or kelvelar on the outside if needed for extra strength.

6. bogeyinthekeys