12' fiberglass boat painting

Discussion in 'Fiberglass and Composite Boat Building' started by Klrtim, May 11, 2008.

1. Klrtim

Klrtim New Member

I bought a beater 12' fiberglass boat. I am sanding it down and am going to paint it. The plan is to camo it like a duck boat. What steps do you think I need to take and what kinds of products to use, as I have never done this before. Thanks Tim advance.

2. the1much

the1much hippie dreams

id go get some national marine paint,,unless you want a great job,,,,how much money do ya want to spend,,and if you use national,,(if this is gonna be a "beater" and for playing) you wont even have to primer first,,,,then do 1 color,,tape off the spots you want that,,next color,,,tape off what ya want to stay,,then so on.,,but,,,it all depends on what kind of "job" your looking for.

3. grady

grady Novice

Camo

Hi this post is directed to ask Much if it might be better to paint all one color the ramdom patterns in second color then fill in random patterns in third. This way no sharp lines between colors not to mention the time savings.

Just a thought. Liston to Much He knows his stuff. I'm a novice with Ideas.

Good luck

4. the1much

the1much hippie dreams