12' Cedar Strip Hull Design. Would this work?

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by GSardone, Jun 26, 2007.

1. GSardone

GSardone Junior Member

I have never built a boat before but I have recently wanted to build my own. I will be using a stich and glue-like method and the hull was designed using SolidWorks.

I borrowed some lines from traditional italian speed boat designs. I had to tone down the curves since it's such a small boat and I don't know the torque tolerances of 1/4" x 3/4" or 1" cedar strips. The transom has a 15 degree rake. The hull will be glassed and the stern will be reinforced to fit a 40 hp outboard.

My question is: Is it feasible to use cedar strips with this design? I could use however many forms I want since I could easily get the cross-plane dimensions from the program I'm using. I coud even get the forms AND planks cnc'd for a fairly cheap price since I could save it to their program file.

Thanks for looking!

Deck:
    [​IMG]

Keel:
    [​IMG]

Bow:
    [​IMG]

Stern:
    [​IMG]

2. frosh

frosh Senior Member

An ambitious hull shape.