10m, 10 passenger canoe for use on Amazon River

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by DBarg, Oct 13, 2022.

1. DBarg

DBarg Junior Member

Hello all. I am attempting to create a canoe-esque design for use by an indigenous population in rural Ecuador. It needs to be about 10m long and house 10 passengers with an outboard, torqueedo engine mounted on the back. I am in immediate need of assistance in designing this and have little idea of where to start. Boat design is not particularly in my repetoire, but I am an engineering student and willing to learn. Most of what I've found don't really deal with making large canoes, so any resources would be really helpful.

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

3. portacruise

portacruise Senior Member

If you are in a hurry, and it doesn't have to be pretty, there are various possibilities based on a hollowed-out log? That approach would lessen the concern with getting materials shipped to a rural area, have a lower cost if acceptable large logs and low cost labor is locally available. Google has lots of info on these, dugout lengths up to 20 meters have been made...

4. DBarg

DBarg Junior Member

For more context, dugout canoes are what are in use now, and I and my team are in charge of creating an alternative made of fiberglass. Unfortunately, none of us have a background in this. We need a deliverable plan for a boat by next spring, but are struggling to get there so far. I would think that plans for something like this already exist, but we're at a loss for where and how to find them.

5. fallguy

fallguy Senior Member

Many years ago, my Uncle Jim and his friend bought two Herters freighter canoes and fished all over southern Ontario in them. He said they could carry them with 4 men to each and they were 20' long.

Thanks for the memory. Jim died a year and a half ago.

You can google freighter canoes and see if they look possible.