1/4, 1/2, 3/4 and 1 ton classification

Discussion in 'Boat Design' started by willfox, Aug 18, 2009.

  1. willfox
    Joined: Oct 2008
    Posts: 79
    Likes: 1, Points: 8, Legacy Rep: 22
    Location: southampton

    willfox Junior Member

    :confused: I have been looking into what defines these different classes but am unable to find anything. Can anyone help?
  2. Ad Hoc
    Joined: Oct 2008
    Posts: 7,276
    Likes: 1,165, Points: 113, Legacy Rep: 2488
    Location: Japan

    Ad Hoc Naval Architect

    You're referring to the old British measurement formula valid in the mid to late 1800s i believe:

    (L-B) x B x 1/2B /94 = tons
    (L+B)^2 + B/1730 = tonnage or rating

    or the Seawanhake Yacht Club Formula:

    L x Sa/4000 = "sail tons"
  3. Paul B

    Paul B Previous Member

    Not likely.

    The designations refer to the level rating classes within the IOR rule. This was the most competitive keelboat racing for open designs during the 1970s and 1980s.

    The QTs raced level at a rating of 18.0, later 18.5 feet. The boats were from about 24 to 26 feet in length overall.

    Halves rated 21.5, later 22.0. The boats were about 30 to 31 feet in length.

    3/4s rated 24.5 feet. Overall they were about 32 to 34 feet long.

    OTs rated 27.5, lated 30.55. The early boats were about 35 to 38 feet long, the later ones 40 to 41 feet.

    There were also level classes for the Mini Tons rating 16.0, 20 to 22 feet long, and Two Tonners rating 32.0, about 42 feet long.

    The IOR Rule ran to about 80 pages and is still available for a fee from the ORC.
Forum posts represent the experience, opinion, and view of individual users. Boat Design Net does not necessarily endorse nor share the view of each individual post.
When making potentially dangerous or financial decisions, always employ and consult appropriate professionals. Your circumstances or experience may be different.