wood frame Hovercraft

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by rasorinc, Mar 18, 2009.

1. rasorinc

rasorinc Senior Member

Has anyone on the forum built a wood frame Hovercraft. I would like to know the quality of their plans. I called the company and the phone is disconnected with no forwarding new number. Are they out of business? Thanks much, Stan

2. apex1

apex1 Guest

3. rasorinc

rasorinc Senior Member

That is the company I tried to call and the phone is disconnected. I got to their site from your posting "river boat on the amazon" which caught my interest and I thought "might be fun to have one of those" with wings. I'm a 50 year licensed pilot. Not active now though. Stan

4. apex1

apex1 Guest

kroberts was the one to point to them at the thread mentioned!
    Give him PM! He said he built one.
    Yeah nice idea that wing craft, could attract me too!
    Cheers
    Richard

5. mudman

mudman Junior Member

I bought some of those drawings. I'll give em to you if I can find them. They are horrible drawings. Useless. And I should know, I was a drafter/designer for 10 years. Now a drafting manager/project manager.

You are better off understanding how a hovercraft works and come up with your own design IMO. The drawings showed a sketch of a hovercraft and an old blueline of some full sized framing. No details, No sections, just a plan and elevation view. Certainly drawin on the board, which looks really nice to me, but was probably drawn in the 60's. Problem is, the info to build it is not in the drawings. The information to build is in a pamphlet that they give you on hovercraft theory and design. They give you some fiberglass technique, and some hp curves for determining engine size, wood selections, bag designs, etc. The info is in the pamphlet, not in the old bluelines.

I think you'd be better off talking to the guy that is still playing with his skirt on the forum. He knows how to build it and what the best choices are.