Racing Shell

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by loveforvdubs, May 8, 2006.

1. loveforvdubs

loveforvdubs New Member

Hello, I am new around here, in fact this is my first time posting, anyway I am in the process of trying to find plans for building a wooden race style rowing shell. I am haveing a very hard time finding any good plans. I was able to fins some plans for recreational shells, but no racing ones. Any help as to where I could find some plans would be greatly appreciated.

2. frosh

frosh Senior Member

It seems to me that for racing rowing shells ( I assume that you mean the fully elite shells like at the olympics) you won't get any plans as these are always professionally built. The other thing about a shell of this standard is that it is a very specialized high tech construction. An amateur built version might look a bit similar but would not be competitive! Therefore no plans available to my knowledge. :)

3. mmd

mmd Senior Member

Probably the closest you will get to a competitive shell is Graeme King's "Kingfisher" design. Plans are sold through WoodenBoat at www.woodenboat.com

[​IMG]

4. DGreenwood

DGreenwood Senior Member

5. JPC

JPC Junior Member

To my experience, Stampfli, Owen and Douglas were the wooden singles that stayed competitive the longest ("longest" as in into the age of composites, not lifetime of the shell). -though Douglas had/has a Kevlar inner skin- you might find those interesting to look at for ideas as you explore available plans. Hudson was also still building wooden singles quite recently.

-JPC

6. loveforvdubs

loveforvdubs New Member

Thank you for all the great ideas. I was also wonder how hard it would be to take the Graeme King plans and change them to be longer and narrower as to be more race oriented. Thanks again for all the help.

7. frosh

frosh Senior Member