Boat Design Forums  |  Boat Design Directory  |  Boat Design Gallery  |  Boat Design Book Store  |  Thanks to Our Site Sponsors

Go Back   Boat Design Forums > Construction > Boatbuilding > Wooden Boat Building and Restoration
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Most Recent Posts Gallery Images Search

Old 01-02-2010, 09:36 PM

Rep: 22 Posts: 7
First-timer instant boat advice

Hey folks, I want to build an Instant Boat.

I'm most interested in the 'Gypsy':
http://www.instantboats.com/gypsy.htm

but I'm also considering the 'Teal' becasue i've heard it's easier:
http://www.instantboats.com/teal.htm

I'd rather build the Gypsy, as I think it looks just beautiful, but I am a complete and total beginner and aiming easier probably isn't a bad idea. I have the book that describes how to build the Gypsy, but not the one for the Teal. Also, I noticed that you can order patterns for the Gypsy from P.H. Specter, which is definitely appealing, since I really don't know what I'm doing.

So that being said, I'd like recommendations. As a beginner I am ready and willing to try and fail and try again, but I'm also not looking to throw my savings out the door to do this. Is the Gypsy too ambitious? Is the Teal easier enough to warrent trying it first? Is it worth ordering the patterns?

I've also noticed from reading my Instant Boat book that Payson assumes a good bit of knowledge I don't really have yet about how this all goes together, so what else should I read or study to get ready?

Also, I'm totally alone in this attempt, without any woodworking or boat-building friends from whom I can get help and advice, so if anyone knows of individuals or groups in the Atlanta area I could get to know, that would be greatly appreciated.

Here goes!

Old 01-02-2010, 10:06 PM

Rep: 490 Posts: 519
Good for you quaz.....It's nice to see people like you. We need more people willing to get off the couch and do something.