48 cu. in. Hydro Project

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by Blastoff, Jul 1, 2008.

1. Blastoff

Blastoff Junior Member

Hi all My name is Jeff and I just received a set of plans to build a 48 cu. in, 11' Hydro.
    The plans are from Clark Craft:
    http://tinyurl.com/58tklf
    There does not seem to be to much info on the net for this boat.
    Can any one here point me in any direction to links or related websites ???
    I would really like to build this boat with a 850cc jetski motor.
    I would also like to shop for related hardware like steering, rudders, props....But have no clue who sells these parts ??? The plans call for parts from Debbold Marine ??? I think they are gone ???
    I have a lathe and mill in my garage machine shop and I have been making carbon fiber rocket parts for 10 years now so the finished boat would have a carbon fiber skin for strength and looks.
    I am really excited about this project but have no idea where to start ??? I am a building contractor and can read the plans but the there is no real direction on where to begin.
    My First question is why would the outer sponson's be open in the back ??? The plans show how to make drain channels. Why would this area be open ??? Would it not be better to fill this area with foam and seal the ends ???
    Thanks in advance for any one taking time to help rookie !!!

My last project went Mach 3.1 until there was a glitch !!!
    http://www.rockethigh.com

2. AuxiliaryComms

AuxiliaryComms Master work in progress

I don't get why they use props on these things... I'd hate to thing about coming off the back of one or reboarding improperly.

3. Blastoff

Blastoff Junior Member

Priceless !!! Thank you AuxiliaryComms for your input !!! Now I can go ahead and build my dreamboat !!!
    Thank you so much !!!

4. SamSam

SamSam Senior Member

It's a rule here that you should have more than one post before you can get snotty. ;)