30' cypress cabin cruiser

Discussion in 'Wooden Boat Building and Restoration' started by wade, Aug 19, 2004.

1. wade

wade Junior Member

Hi,
    I am a new member here and am a furniture builder by trade and have built a couple of stitch and glue boats.
    I have just acquired and old cypress cabin cruiser in Louisiana. It was sunk when it was retired. I am told cypress doesn't rot when submerged and indeed I can find very little rot on her. Her hull is planked, most paint and caulking gone. My first question is this, Since I expect to trailor the boat and have her in the water only occasionally would I be better off using epoxy and glass or caulking her as she was originally. I am worried she might never swell completly and always leak. Alternativly I do not want to weaken her or cause a problem with the hull swelling closed with the epoxy. Any suggestions? Thanks

2. Dutch Peter

Dutch Peter Senior Member

Hi Wade,

The problem with old boats is, the water content of the wood!
    A lot of people think that by applying epoxy and glass on an old boat, they can preserve it. But in fact what they are doing is putting on a "death cloth" (translation from Dutch phrase, but you get the idea).
    Ofcourse, nothing is impossible, I have heard of projects that worked out fine, but it takes a lot of time.
    You have to make sure that the water content of the wood is below 12 %. But when you are drying the hull, it will open up (first problem).
    Then, when the boat is clinker build, you have to make fillets on all the strakes to take the glass.
    And, to do a real good job, if you get the boat dry enough glass it inside and outside, Make a sandwichconstruction and really preserve the wood.

That's one alternative.

Here's an other idea, why not replace the caulking with a sealand (sika). That's flexible, so working of the wood is no problem and it doesn't close in the wood so rot is less of a problem.