Weight increase on a Personal Watercraft

Discussion in 'Stability' started by BluSky, Aug 6, 2013.

1. BluSky

BluSky Junior Member

Hi, I am a student, but not in engineering. Currently I am working during the summer, and I would like to organise a performance. I hope you could get me some opinions on. With a Personal Watercraft, of dimensions 3,40x1,25x1,20 metres, I would like to add decoration and different things, as part of a performance. I have the important challenge to resolve, is the relation between the weight, the flotation and the hull shape (this last one, I think I can not modify it).

Due to I want to carry heavy things, it is forecast that total weight would be 700kg aprox, including the engine (150 hp) and propulsion system.

The first question is about flotation. As first approach, do you think that a Personal Watercraft, where you could increase the weight up to 700 kg, could be floated without problems? Do you think I should try to concentrate the great amount of weight in the center, or along the PWC?

Any other recomendation, comment or advice is very appreciated.

Thank you very much.

1 person likes this.
  2. Mike Graham

Mike Graham Junior Member

Most PWC are made to accommodate maybe two riders and a tiny bit of cargo--maybe expecting a 200kg load (the manufacturer should have said what they want). Unless yours is something very special, I'd tend to think this makes 700kg a non-starter before looking at anything else. If a particular PWC can handle such a load, it would have to be determined by very specific analysis, not generalizing across PWC in general.

3. Squidly-Diddly

Squidly-Diddly Senior Member

click my handle for my gallery of sketch of one of a few PWC/motorcycle ideas I and some others were batting around on another thread(I may dig up latter).

I'm confident in a very heavy motorcycle being OK on land(Honda Goldwing for god's sake).

Not sure about PWC on water, but I sure feel even slight weight on kayak deck.