Poling Platform on small boat

Discussion in 'Stability' started by ddrdan, Mar 28, 2009.

1. ddrdan

ddrdan Junior Member

I want to put a poling platform on a 12’ flat bottom boat. I’m convinced there is a way! With this economy I’m forced to give up on the big flats boat and design a 1 man, or possibly, 2 man boat.

I have no experience in boat design. I’ve been self educating myself for about a month now from web based information. I believe I have a grip on the basics. The balance from fore to aft is ok. The poling platform weighs 28# and I’ve compensated with the weight of a deck forward of the platform

To achieve the height I need, it will require outriggers. I have designed retractable outrigger arms but I need help in determining how far out they need to go and the volume required in the pontoon to counteract the tipping while I’m on the platform.

The pontoon can not exceed 24” in length. I would also like the minimial extension distance required. The retractable arm area is limited. Because they will not be used when under power; what hull or shape would displace / stabilize the best?

In reviewing outriggers for kayaks & canoes it looks like the rigs don’t stay in the water and they tip back and forth. I am assuming my requirements will need the rigs to produce constant lift from both sides when extended??

Below are the general specs on the project. Any help you can give will be greatly appreciated.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. alan white

alan white Senior Member

Pole from a low base. Your high platform will be a bit hairy in practice. Your pontoon floats really would need to be orders of magnitude larger to provide adaquate bouyancy.
    You appear to show about a 5 1/2 ft beam with floats out. This is absolutely too narrow to pole at the height shown even if the floats were a full 12 ft long and 18" diameter and the boat was a catamaran.
    Consider a catamaran 8 ft wide with at least 12 ft x 12" floats if you want to stay dry.

3. ddrdan