Very very new to sailing

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by chrysus, Sep 21, 2004.

1. chrysus

chrysus New Member

Hello,

I am very new to sailing, as may be evident by the question I am about to ask. What kind of sailboat is required for long distance voyages, say, from the S.F. Bay to Hawaii? General information like size, type of boat, etc. would help me out a lot.

Thank you!
    Mike

2. RThompson

RThompson Guest

Hi Mike,

General information you require:
    Size: It should be big enough to suit your needs.
    Type of Boat: You already specified that - Sail Boat
    :D

Go to your local magazine shop and buy yourself something like "Cruising Helmsman", have a read. You could do that trip on a multi million dollar maxi, or a lashed together raft.

Good Luck,
    Rob

3. Kevin H.

Kevin H. Junior Member

I once read that someone made that trip in a 15' Westwight Potter. :eek:

4. tspeer

tspeer Senior Member

If you're very new to sailing, I'd set my sights on shorter distances initially!

If you're interested in buying a boat, get a sailing dinghy. Something like a Laser if you're sailing by yourself, or whatever is the most popular racing class, with modest performance, in your area. You will learn the essential connection between tiller, sheet, and weight placement this way quicker than any other. And if you don't keep the boat, you can sell it for not much less than you paid for it.

Second, start crewing in races. A racing skipper will take an enthusiastic inexperienced crew that can be counted on to show up on time, every time, over someone with more experience that can't be relied upon. This will give you the opportunity to sail on a bigger boat and learn the finer points of sail trim. It is also a good way to get experience in a variety of different boats. There will be things you like and don't like about each one, and this will do more than anything else to refine your idea of what you really want.