Upwind daggerboard installation on a production displacement sailboat

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by peterchech, Jan 2, 2012.

1. peterchech

peterchech Senior Member

I have a hunter 25 with shoal draft keel, drawing 2'11". The boat goes upwind, but due to the keel and the fact that I rarely have much crew aboard to straighten up the boat, it's upwind performance leaves much to be desired especially as wind speed kicks up.

Many racing boats have canted daggerboards (think mini 650) just ahead of the unheeled clr that are lowered when beating upwind. Mostly this is on boats with a canting keel.

The j-108 is a shallow draft j boat that has the same draft as me, but has a centerboard for upwind work. According to a review linked on the manufacturers website This really helps the boat climb to windward.

I bought my boat for $1400 and don't care much about cabin space or resale value. I have some experience with fiberglass and have built a few small boats. My question is, has anyone put lifting canted daggerboards on a displacement production sailboat to get some better upwind performance? Assuming I have the time and skill to do it, is there any reason this couldn't work? I am thinking a 15 degree can't to the boards would be perfect, with maybe a 2 degree toe in. They would be located about a foot ahead of the upright clr. The exit point would be above the upright waterline, and the cases glassed to a bulkhead. Thoughts? Ideas?

2. michael pierzga

michael pierzga Senior Member

Find the Righting moment numbers for a Hunter with a deep keel and compare them to your righting moment with the stubby keel. Find out what the designed waterline is...displacement....deep keel vs stubby. Is your keel lead ?

Better foils will certainly help windward performance but you still need righting moment....power ...and float on the designed lines. Perhaps an off the shelf performance keel from a wrecked boat could be substituted.