Sail calculation

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by cardeal, Apr 25, 2016.

1. cardeal

cardeal New Member

Hi everyone,

I'm new here and I am looking for some calculation to help me out in design a sail for my project (actually to see if it is feasible or not). I am studying a MSc in Marine Engineering at UCL (London-UK) and I have a challenge to design a mega container ship (40.000 TEU :eek:) for 2035 with sail assist.

I wonder if anyone can help me or give me a link where I can dig up the theory and the formulas.

Regards,

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

3. cardeal

cardeal New Member

thanks, will have a look.

4. BertKu

BertKu Senior Member

I was at one stage told, the rule of the thumb is length x 4 is approx. the sail area required. i.e. for a 6 meter yacht = 24 m2 That will become quite sky scraper for your size boat. 300 meter long? x 4 = 1200 m2 meter. Bert

5. cardeal

cardeal New Member

thanks mate! will use this as a initial stage of development..

actually the LOA is almost 500m :eek:

but how the efficiency is increased with this value?

6. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Length times 4 isn't a very reliable method to calculate sail area. A wetted area times a qualifier will be much better, but in reality, you should use several mitigating factors for this calculation. Of course, the whole concept is absurd, but yeah, have fun with it.

7. BertKu

BertKu Senior Member