GZ curve

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by ivansalasj, Feb 22, 2005.

1. ivansalasj

ivansalasj Junior Member

Hi,

I would just like to post the initial estimation of a GZ curve for an ocean cruiser which i am at the moment designing, my aim is to get as much feedback as i can about the GZ and also to open a discussion in what should one aim for the stability to be of a fast cruising sloop. In my case the length is 32 m, Beam 7.9 m. T=1.2m Displacement = 95 tons. There is more information if you would like to know it just let me know and i will post it. I aim to carry 540 m^2 of sail but again this is only the beggining of a long designing spiral. I should also mention that I am a student of Naval Architecture and this yacht will prob. never be build but its part of the course and quiet an interesting part of it too.

Cheers
    Ivan

2. ivansalasj

ivansalasj Junior Member

Curve

And the GZ curve is...

Attached Files:

3. Dutch Peter

Dutch Peter Senior Member

Ivan,

The GZ-curve itself doesn't say it all, although a range of about 140 degrees is a good for such a yacht.
    What also should be considered is the angle at which downflooding openings are reached.
    You could also include a wind moment line at different speeds, related to your sail area.
    Download a copy of the Large Yacht code of the MCA, that way you make a link with relevant requirements (something tutors like!).

Good luck

4. MikeJohns

MikeJohns Senior Member

Ivan

Ultimate stability is probably unnecessarily high at 140 degrees for such a big boat. It is good if you can achieve it without too deep a draft.