First build, too much to bite off?

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by DesioMedia, May 4, 2006.

1. DesioMedia

DesioMedia Junior Member

Hi

I have recently been intrested in building a large preformance cruiser. I have been sailing my whole life, but I have only minor experience with repairs and modifications. The extent of which is installing a wheelpiliot, and small general wood working. However I do have a good bit of experiecne with "system"(eletrical, water, motor, septic). I have found plans that I like, http://andrewsyacht.com/andrws44.htm .

I have never built a boat before let alone anything bigger than a small shack for storage. First is it possible for me and two friends with equal knowledge to build a boat of this magnitude? How much time and money should I expect to put into a build of this sort of project?

In addition is this a well designed boat? I am looking for somthing comfortable yet fast.

Any and all help is appreciated

Thx- Alex

2. SeaSpark

SeaSpark -

Start small, find design developed for home building

It would be wise to start building a small boat, it will pay back for itself. You will be more experieced when you start building the bigger boat. This saves time and money. It also is a good way to find out if boatbuilding really is something for you.

You should buy a design especially developed for home building. Good examples of designs like this come with extensive building manuals. The design office will be better able to answer your questions. Often there is a community of people building a boat of the same design that can give you advise.

Example:

http://www.stadtdesign.com/products/vds474.htm

3. LP

LP Flying Boatman

SeaSpark is right.