Faster upwind tacking by taking turns towing?

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by h.t.hall, Mar 24, 2005.

1. h.t.hall

h.t.hall Landlubber

Hi, everyone. Is it possible for two identical sailing vessels, connected by a long rope, to tack into the wind faster, collectively, than either of them could do on its own?

I think I can safely claim to be more ignorant about sailing than almost anyone else on this forum: I've actually never set foot on a sailboat. (And this after having lived both in the San Francisco Bay Area and on the shores of Lake Geneva, quel dommage!) As a result, anything I say is likely to be complete nonsense in terms of practical sailing, and it may be difficult to even understand what nonsense I intend since I'm not familiar with the correct terminology.

I'm a mathematician (here's where most of you stop reading), and just for fun the past couple of days I've been thinking a bit about what makes it possible to sail against the wind. In an extremely simplified mathematical model, tacking is possible because the force vector of the wind is projected three times. (To project a vector means to separate out the useful part of it from the part that's just pushing sideways.) First the wind vector is projected in a direction perpendicular to the sail, then the force from the sail to the boat is projected parallel to the keel, and then the fact of constantly switching tacks amounts to a third projection: when the keel isn't pointed in the direction you want to go, your motion has forward and sideways components, and only the forward component is useful.