Depowering racing boat

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by JackW, Feb 20, 2007.

1. JackW

JackW New Member

I am not an engineer but I would appreciate some informed opinion on this subject. Maybe you can help me get around the course a little faster.

Conventional wisdom is that as your boat begins to be overpowered you start inducing twist in the sail plan spilling air from the upper part of the sail. Recently I have heard some advocating 'slopping' the rig, that is loosening the shrouds and allowing the entire rig to lean off to leward. The advantage of this I am told is that you don't need to twist the sail as much which reduces induced drag.

Fact or fiction? Thanks guys.

2. jim lee

jim lee Senior Member

I donno'..

When I want to depower my sailplan, I don't twist it. I flatten out the chord of the sail giving a shallower, higher speed airfoil. (Mostly by bending the mast.)

I was told that you twist your sail to match the angle of attack for the apparent wind as it changes from the surface of the water up to the top of the mast. That made sense to me so it kinda' stuck.

But of course, whenever someone beats me on the race course, all my theorys are brought into question. :)

-jim lee

3. national

national Junior Member

flatten the sail first, using rake and cunningham. Remember you should also try to flatten the foresail if possible, by changing the sheeting angle or cunningham if you have/can fit one. Excessive twist is more of a survival tactic or used when in heavy seas .

4. kenJ

kenJ Senior Member

Sail Trim

Take a look at www.Catalinaowners.com select message boards from the menu bar, then expert forums, then sail trim. Do some reading of the archives and then start asking questions. Or you can just buy his sail trim chart or book from the chandlery or West Marine/Boat US store to get a better understanding of sail trim. Don't feel alone, until the light comes on it is a confusing subject.

5. Eric Sponberg

Eric Sponberg Senior Member