Circulation Theory

Discussion in 'Sailboats' started by deseely, Jul 3, 2006.

1. deseely

deseely New Member

I want to begin by saying that I am not an aeronautical engineer and I make no claim of being an expert, but I see what appears to me to be several serious discrepancies in the circulation theory. I’m sure that there are some details of the theory that I don’t understand or that I simply have wrong and look forward to the clarification on those details.
    As I understand it, the circulation theory is the application of the Magnus theory of circulation to a wing. In the Magnus theory, a spinning cylinder drags a whirlpool of air around with it (circulation) that interacts with a flow to create pressure difference. Where the circulation is in the same direction as the flow the resulting velocity is higher and where the circulation is in the opposite direction of the flow the resulting velocity is lower. The difference in velocity is responsible for the pressure difference as per Bernoulli’s equation.