Engine for 30 foot old and heavy ex fishing boat

Discussion in 'Propulsion' started by Kema, May 5, 2014.

1. Kema

Kema New Member

Hi,
    i am a bit new with boating, having purchased my 30 foot wooden 1954 wooden boat, thats is re-built into a pleasure boat out of old fishing boat. The problem i have, is too big engine ( i know there is not such a thing as too much power, but space and noise considered, its just too much). Takes too much space, is too loud etc. So i have a boat 30 foot long ( around 26 at waterline), 11 wide ( at waterline) and it has 4,2 liter diesel engine produce by Ford lehman, 73 hp 1970 smth model. Its very heavy, and takes loads of space. I like the boat, so i decided to do some investment and thinking of changing engine into smaller one, maybe a turbo diesel, that would take less space and be less noisy. My issue is, how much can i reduce the engine size/power? I dont neet to go fast, but would like to have cruising speed of min 5 knots, with a bit power to spare.

The boat official weight ( on doccuments) is 6000 kg, so its not a light boat...

Could anyone advice me were to start and how to work out if for example 40 hp turbo diesel would be enough, also i would guess i would have to change proppeler etc as well, anything else?

Thanks in advance!

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

I can't see much sense in installing a turbo diesel in a slow heavy boat, there could also be problems matching up a suitable gearbox ratio and propellor.

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Welcome to the forum.

Diesels are noisy, it's just the nature of the beast. Newer ones are noticeably softer spoken, but they'll still shout down a gas engine in volume. Also by their nature diesels are big and heavy. This is just the reality of a diesel, compared to a gas engine.