Diesel & raw water cooling, what to look for

Discussion in 'Propulsion' started by Monterey, Nov 16, 2004.

1. Monterey

Monterey New Member

I'm looking at picking up a project boat that is powered by a caterpillar diesel. It was originally cooled with a heat exchanger, but 2 years ago (but not too many hours ago) it went to raw salt water cooling due to a problem with the h/e. How much damage should I expect to find in that engine? Are engines ever designed for raw water cooling and if so, what is different about them vs. a fresh water/coolant engine?

Many thanks. I'm new to combustion-powered boats.

2. kapnD

kapnD Senior Member

Monterey, This will really be a major project if you intend to rebuild the engine. Two years exposure to salt water has most likely done irreperable damage to the block, heads, heat exchangers, aftercooler, oil coolers, everything in the cooling circuit. Its just a matter of time until it goes kerblooey! Dont let the "low hours" sales pitch lull you. If you put in a bid for this, assume that you will have to buy a new powerplant, even if it still runs. Yes, some engines are raw water cooled, but usually trailer boats that have a means of fresh water flushing at the end of the day. Modern diesels like to run at a design temperature, much better controlled through the use of heat exchangers.

3. FAST FRED

FAST FRED Senior Member

AN additional problem is that salt will fall out of solution at over 145F.

The Sea water in a Heat exchanger is always kept well under this temp so it won't plug up.

Your engine probably runs at 180F or more , so may be partally plugged with salt to add to the immense corrosion sea water cooling causes.

Plan on NEW EVERYTHING , or stay clear!

FAST FRED

4. woodboat

woodboat Senior Member

Salt as in "ocean" or some form of brackish? In the Chesapeake bay we have engines with twenty years that are still fine. If true salt then what has already been posted I agree.

5. Monterey

Monterey New Member