My renovation project

Discussion in 'Projects & Proposals' started by macspeedy, Apr 1, 2011.

1. macspeedy

macspeedy Junior Member

Hi,

Newbie here, this is my first boat and my first project.

I didnt pay much for the boat and trailer, i am trying to complete this on a very tight budget.

The boat was a 15 foot wooden cuddy, the cabin has been removed to increase the deck space, this was done before i got it. I bought this with pottering about the local small ports and diving and fishing from.

There was damage to the hull in the past and the owner fiber glassed the hull, this has now been removed as all it did was keep the hull wet !

I am in the process of removing all the paint from the hull and inside and drying it out.

I am looking for any advice for good paint and wood prep techniques.

Thanks
    Mac ! :D

2. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

There are thousands of previous threads here about wood prep and techniques, though it does depend on what you intend on doing with the boat and the methods you plan of employing in her rebuild.

It would be helpful to describe what type of boat, the build method and supply some pictures if possible. Then your proposed plan of attack.

3. macspeedy

macspeedy Junior Member

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

sorry for the quality i'll try and get better ones up soon, its that way up for a while ..:(

4. Pericles

Pericles Senior Member

macspeedy,

There is something that you can do with that hull and end up with a new boat. There is a method of boat building called stitch and glue.

http://www.google.co.uk/search?q=st...&aq=t&client=firefox-a&rlz=1R1GGGL_en___GB351