Hull for small autonomous ocean crossing boat

Discussion in 'Projects & Proposals' started by elkroketto, Feb 3, 2017.

1. elkroketto

elkroketto Junior Member

Hi everybody,

my name is Elias, I am a software engineer from Germany. For the last seven months I have been working on a software controlling the systems for an unmanned and autonomous boat which is supposed to travel through the oceans. The software is making great progress when it comes to navigation, power management, and communications. Unfortunately my skills in designing mechanical structures - especially when talking about water vehicles - are very limited. Therefore I hope to find some advice on this forum.

A very popular hull design used by different robot sailing teams is the so called MaxiMoop developed by the US Naval Academy. In a 2014 published paper they show two design approaches:

[​IMG]
    The original design, built and tested in 2014

[​IMG]
    Improved hull design

Although this design is intended for sailing boats I think it is great for stability reasons: The ability to safely flip over after capsizing is crucial for a boat out on the sea far away from any human help. On the downside the deck does not offer lots of space for solar cells and every inch counts when harvesting energy. I do not intend to add any sails, only solar cells and a (small & max efficiency) motor. The overall length is going to be around 1.7 meters.

What hull design do you think would be the best for this project? Should I stick with the MaxiMoop, and resize the deck for the maximum flat area? Or dou you have any other design ideas on this special topic?

Your help is much appreciated! Best regards
    Elias

2. TANSL

TANSL Senior Member

Welcome to the forum, Elias.
    You have shown us the original design and the improved design. Could you tell us what each change in the hull has meant to improve. In short, why is the improved hull better than the original? What performances have been improved and how?