Sealing with Silicone?

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by Ok J, May 19, 2005.

1. Ok J

Ok J Ok J

As I have completed the top of my boat and plan to assemble as much as possible before mating it with the hull, (all fiberglass) I need to know what the differences are in the different types of sealants I should use for deck hardware etc. Are there different grades of silicone? And as I reattach the windshield assembly (aluminum frame) what type of gasket material should I use?

Thanks to all that answer.

-Ok J

2. Sander Rave

Sander Rave Senior Member

Don't use Silicone for your boat, it won't last.

3. Ok J

Ok J Ok J

My boat had silicone around the rub rail (top and bottom) from the factory when it was built 26 years ago and was in good shape when I disassembled it, there must be good materials out there! I work in the autobody industry and we stay away from silicone sealants for contamination reasons, I have been told that there are varying grades of silicone, and there must be if the original stuff on my old boat lasted 26 years. Any help out there?
    Cheers...Ok J

4. Ok J

Ok J Ok J

Is the only difference between regular silicone and marine grade the anti mildew additive? UV protection? Hmmm.

5. cyclops

cyclops Senior Member

My only chemical caution is that the vinegar smell of it is Acetic acid. Be very selective on which bare metals you put it on.

6. PowerTech

PowerTech Senior Member

3M 5200 nuff said

7. cyclops

cyclops Senior Member

How easy is 3M to remove after a full cure?

8. PowerTech

PowerTech Senior Member

easy to remove and 5200 do not belong in the same sentance

9. cyclops

cyclops Senior Member

Do a search on this site of-- 3M 5200 remove-- keep in mind how large of a area you may have to pull up again.

10. PowerTech

PowerTech Senior Member