I want to build a fiber-glass bay boat!...

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by mufit, Sep 5, 2006.

1. mufit

mufit Only a Sea Lover

Hello,
    I'm very new in this forum. My matter is that I want to build a fiber-glass bay (fishing) boat with the lenght 4-4,25 meters. I plan to use it on sea for fishing/cruising. I have a friend for fiber-glass production so no problem about it. My problems are following;

1- I am an automotive designer and know to use design softwares. Which software (s) do I have to use for designing? (Rhino, Catia, 3Dmax, etc)

2- What kind of material can I use for mold itself? As cheap as possible because I'll use it for 2-3 boat build. Can someone give me a plan or 3d model (data) about mold or boat itself?

3- How can I reach the information about engines? Drawings, weights, etc..

4- How can I calculate the water line? The line boat stands on water.

Thank you very much!...

2. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member

Hi mufit,
    Unless you're already familiar with the myriad issues (stability, strength, weight distribution, powering, trim, etc) you'll be better off to buy stock plans that have already been built and tested.
    A full fibreglass mould is only economical if (a) you are building many boats, or (b) you are doing autoclave cures. Even the many rapid-prototype mould systems available are still pretty pricey, especially for a small boat with its inherently slim profit margain.
    Every major engine builder posts the necessary specs on their websites, or will send specs if asked. But if you don't know anything about designing hulls, simply slapping on a motor you like on a drawing that looks pretty will usually cause the boat (if it floats) to either spin out, flip end-over-end, or simply handle like a pig.
    Bottom line, if you want a boat for yourself, buy stock plans and follow them; if you want a new design, find an NA or take the classes to learn what one does.

3. Ike

Ike Senior Member