Horsepower requirement of the tug towing the barge

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by samN, Jul 9, 2010.

1. samN

samN Junior Member

Hi,

I have a question.. I hope I will find the answer in this great forum that I browse regularly

Is there any rules to calculate the hp of a tug depending on the barge tonnage or capacity ??

If there is no rules .. how can we determine the tug's power according to the barge's tonnage ??

Last edited: Jul 11, 2010
  2. Submarine Tom

Submarine Tom Previous Member

It depends on many variables.

We need more information.

How did you get this job if you can't do it?

-Tom

3. apex1

apex1 Guest

You first have to find out the resistance (wave drag, skin friction, etc) your tow produces. Then you need the speed you like to move it.

Then you can start a power estimation.

Are the missing parameters available?

Regards
    Richard

4. samN

samN Junior Member

Thank you Tom .. actually I'm a Safety Officer:p
    Thank you apex1 I'll try to find out that !

Last edited: Jul 11, 2010
  5. rxcomposite

rxcomposite Senior Member

I have the formula but my bags and PC are packed. I will try if I have it on USB. It is about the displacement of the barge, the wind resistance above waterline, and the sea state where it is going to operate,

Not your job. It is a surveyors job or a Naval Archie. Tell your boss to pay a marine consultant specializing on this fiels.

6. samN

samN Junior Member

Great !! thank you rxcomposite..hope to hear from you soon

7. rxcomposite

I may be far from this one. What i have (or rather don;t have) at the moment is a simple spreadsheet for calculating tow Hp of a marine vessel. Not even explanation or rules. It is like lifting a page from Naval Architecture book.

8. Crag Cay

Crag Cay Senior Member