Fuel guage problem

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by thebassn8tr, Sep 29, 2006.

1. thebassn8tr

thebassn8tr Junior Member

Let me start off by saying that I have a yamaha 4 stroke 40hp F40TLRY. My fuel guage is not working. When I turn the key, the guage moves. It is constantly reading empty. I know it is getting power. BUT the weirdest thing is that when I turn the navigation lights on, the guage shows "full." Any ideas? BTW, I have no knowledge about outboards but I don't mind getting greasy. Pics would be great but any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

Reading your other parallel posts, it seems like there is a wiring problem. Probably a bad ground. However, it would be easier for you to find a solution if you posted all the problems together.

3. thebassn8tr

I did not want to post them all together because I feel that they are un related. The RPM gauge works fine and it is utilizing the same ground.

4. tom28571

tom28571 Senior Member

The problems may not be related but I'd guess the odds are about the same as winning the lottery against it.

5. Frosty

Frosty Previous Member

To explain this properly. If you had a sore throat, runny nose and a headache would you think them to be all unrelated? or one problem affecting all?

6. stonebreaker

stonebreaker Senior Member

I agree with Gonzo, you have a wiring problem. The fuel gauge is really an ohmmeter, it reads resistance. The float in the gas tank varies the resistance, but the problem is loose connections can also cause the resistance to vary, which screws up the calibration of the gauge. Make sure all your wiring is tight and not corroded.

7. Frosty

Frosty Previous Member

Yeah but he has also sited a thread about his trim guage not working properly. He has also said that his navigation lights affect the fuel guage.

Every body is correct here.