85 Ski Supreme Sierra bowrider

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by Bigbopper, Aug 15, 2007.

1. Bigbopper

Bigbopper New Member

Hello, Newbie here.

I am going to look at a boat I am interested in purchasing. It's a 20' 1985 Ski Supreme Sierra bowrider with an Indmar 351 inboard on a really nice newer tandem axle bunk style trailer. I really like the hull design as it is a much deeper "V" than any other ski type boat I have looked at and appears it may be a liitle more usefull in slightly rougher water.
    Anyone have any info or knowledge on this boat?
    I will do my best to check for rot or soft spots in the floor. Is it possible to thoroughly check the stringers for rot without pulling the floor?
    Anything else to check for?

Thanks for any help!!

BB

2. sierrajb

sierrajb Junior Member

It's a Great Boat...Trust Me!

Just found this forum, so hope my reply gets to you soon enough.

I purchased the very same boat in 2001. I simply love it! Plenty of room for the family, great looks, solid build. Since then I've completely rebuild the engine, installed new carpet, etc. Yes, it takes the rough water much smoother than other inboards that are more shallow. You'll find the rooster tail in the middle of the wake a special challenge if you slalom. If you cruise, tube, wakeboard, etc. you've found the right boat for the right price.

Good luck to you and enjoy the boat!

3. Bigbopper

Bigbopper New Member

Thanks for the feedback! Boy, not to many places to use a boat near Fort Worth????

4. sierrajb

sierrajb Junior Member

Metro-lakes are rare, indeed!

The lakes around the metroplex (Dallas-Ft. Worth) are "okay" but not what I would call ideal conditions. These scarce metro-lakes are always brimming with too many boats and not enough shoreline, if you know what I mean. When we get serious, we'll take a 1-2 hour drive to a larger, less populated lake.