28ft power cruiser re furbishment

Discussion in 'Powerboats' started by zingaroo, Oct 10, 2004.

1. zingaroo

zingaroo New Member

Well Hello folks, this is my first posting so please be gentle with me!
    I have just about finished the first stage of renovating a 28ft fletcher zingaro
    a very sleek if old power boat. I have completely stripped her and replaced all internal structures including new bearers decking and PU foam bouyancy.

She has a very sound hull which was driven by a single 7.4 ltr V8 hi-perf gas guzzling monster through a borg warner velvet drive gearbox to a mercruiser
    TRS2 out drive leg with a SS cleaver type prop. however, I have hauled the monster from its lair during the refit with a view to trying to save my marriage
    and fit a diesel? as you may have guessed I am not blessed with tons of cash but I do have tons of enthusiasm, some skill in my hands (plumber/welder by trade, with a now healthy respect for carpentry and fibreglassing!)

I believe my options include: a suitable pre used truck engine with some modification? a pair of smaller, say 3ltr 4x4 diesels but a change of propulsion units would be needed as the TRS2 leg is quite a lump to double up on, or even trying to get the existing monster to live on LPG with all its difficulties?

I know the real answer is to go and buy a "Hammerhead,Tigershark or some other wonderful diesel marine engine, but alas!

I have been looking at the simplicity of straight shaft surface drives and the weight saving over twin large outdrives, but with no experiance with these, I am hoping for some suggestions.

Best wishes to all, I await with interest to see if anyone can help?

I will try to post a jpeg of my boat (I have tried to edit out the timber frame that holds the tarpaulin covers as a work tent)

Zingaroo. :confused:

Attached Files:

2. Carteret

Carteret Senior Member

Hey Zing,