Outboard to Inboard Conversion

Discussion in 'Outboards' started by NewGuy8519, Jun 19, 2014.

1. NewGuy8519

NewGuy8519 New Member

I'm new to this forum, this is actually my first post. So I should probably start by saying I know very very little about boats, I work on cars for a living and I'm sure with my automotive knowledge I should be able to pick up on boat electricals and drive-train components fairly quick. So to my questions, I recently got a 16 foot 1971 Tri Hull for free, needless to say it needs a lot of work. It currently has a non-running outboard engine and I would like to convert it to an inboard sbc engine, could anyone give me some help or advice on the subject? A good start would be if it's possible to do this conversion? I know I would have to change some parts on the engine (starter distributor carb etc.) And if I can would I have to do fiberglass work to the rear of the boat? Sorry in advance if any of my questions are dumb or should be obvious but like I said I know very little about boats, this is kind of an exciting new project for me and I'm diving in head first.
    Thanks for any help.

2. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

Hello, my first thought is the boat is probably too small for the engine you have in mind. What kind of drive are you thinking of, a shaft set-up ?

3. PAR

PAR Yacht Designer/Builder

Yeah, a small block in a 16' boat is a really tight fit. It might be possible to install one as an outdrive, but you'll still be pretty cramped. Then there's the weight issue. Replacing a 200 - 250 pound outboard with a 1,000 pound small block, transmission and shaft is just a huge jump, so the boat needs to be large enough to accept this additional burden and still have capacity for crew, fuel, batteries and a safety margin. Besides, you don't want a straight shaft setup in a little boat, trust me. The outboard or a small outdrive is the way to go.

4. NewGuy8519

NewGuy8519 New Member