trimaran

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Lem, Nov 11, 2004.

1. Lem

Lem New Member

Okay, first things first I know very little about boats and I need some kind help please...

I am an engineering student and have been given a brief that basically requires me to know all about the design processes and costs of designing "4-6 birth sea-going sailing yachts", including all the mould costs right the way through to buisness plans etc.

I'd like to put together a trimaran, 4 birth (how many ft? 30? 40? 60?), enfacis on being able to do some sort of endurance cruise. Portsmouth to France to Las Palma to US? That's a fairly hefty trip isn't it?
    I Could do with some help as to the most reliable / cheapest hull material (composite?)?
    Was thinking of going for a kind of affordable cruiser or something of a kin to that.

Any advice, knowledge or web adresses from any kind members would be welcome.

2. stokesdakat

stokesdakat New Member

Let me first tell you that by wanting to build a tri, you are taking the hardest path possible, i should know. i am building one only 14 feet long, and have been for the last 4 years... but i digress. the length doesn't determine the number of berths a boat has, but trimarans are known to have skinny hulls resulting in very little interior space. some notable exceptions are the old piver tris, but there are bulky and not as fast as one would hope. there are a lot of designs out there that use plywood as the hull material that would be relatively cheap and easy to build. other than that, buying a tri is the only other way to go.