Rotating or fixed mast?

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by aussiebushman, May 6, 2010.

1. aussiebushman

aussiebushman Innovator

I'm sure I'll get a lot of flack about this, but it is a genuine question. I'm building a Trinardo 6.2m Tri using the rig, hulls and sails from a mark 4 A Class with a purpose-built new centre hull. The A Class mast is of course, a rotating alloy foil shape with the ring at the head for tensioning the luff.

The issues are:
    • I have no experience of rotating rigs - only fixed ones
    • I will be cruising only - no interest in racing
    • Most sailing will be single handed
    • Setting up the rig when launching will also be single handed, with my intention of using a gin pole and winch to raise and lower the mast. This will be much easier to do if the mast can be coupled to a hinge joint at the mast base before raising it and the luff tensioned with a simple halyard and clutch system
    • There will be plenty of times when sail reduction will be essential and though I understand the principle of spilling wind using the rotating rig, does not dispensing with the existing tensioning arrangement, adding a couple of reef points to the sail with a single line reefing system provide greater safety and convenience for single handed action?
    Advice from cruising sailors and/or designers will be very welcome.

Regards

Alan

2. catsketcher

catsketcher Senior Member

Don't go the A

Gday Alan

My little 600kg 6 metre cat 4.4m wide will probably have about the same righting moment as your tri - maybe mine has less than a Trinado as they are wider. I have a 16ft skiff rig on it and have bought a broken Etchell mast as a replacement. The 16 stick is in no way capable of handling the loads from a stable boat.