Hydrofoil - trimaran

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by sub_0, Dec 8, 2015.

1. sub_0

sub_0 Junior Member

Greeting and hello to everyone

First of all big thanks in advance for everyone who give they opinion and help on this matter . I m trying to design and build hydrofoil trimaran for school project wich would be powered by internal electric motor . I have some basic knowledge of foilers from Ray Vellinga book also i m on the 5 th year of college and representing myself and my team so we have some background in current topic ....We designed some inicial project wich basic caracteristic :

-lwl=2.35 m
    -b=1.75(from ama to ama)
    -d=0.45 (main hull)-big depth in for different disciplines
    -Foiler configuration : canard
    -forward foils : surface piercing-2x position wide abeam on amas
    -main foils - t foil on rudder
    -NACA: 64-412 on both forward and aft wings

Our goal is to register for internacional competition in three disciplines so are boat must be able to do displacement (or semidispalcement ) transfer of 200 kg and two so to say more speed races on the 200 m track ( rectangular track with sharp 90 deg turn on each corner )

-My question are ?

-foils configuration goog/bad(t foil carries cca 70 % weight)

-does main t foil needs addicional hight sensor in current configuration with forward surface piercer ( i think not cuz forward foil will change AOI of t foil , and currently we are not planing to put any addicional height sensor)

-i was unable to find trimarans foilers WITHOUT sails , also i m concerned about turning manuvers of this ship (shown on pic below) , but i also saw very good flat turns manovers in similar configurations.

-in order to find balance beetwen weight transport and spped races our first choice is semidiplacement main hull??(what do u think of this)

-ama design -do they need to have same depth as main hull to provide inicial stability when boat is on the rest or they can have smaller depth like on pic below?