Does anyone out there have any experance converting two kayaks into a catamaran?

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Amy, May 1, 2010.

1. Amy

Amy Junior Member

Hi,
    I'm new to this page but I am trying to convert two scrambler xt kayaks into a catamaran. I so far have worked out basic plan and would like to get some feedback on the probility of this working.

I have two scrambler xt sit on top dive kayaks.
    Thay are 12' long and 29" wide and can carry about 300 to 350 lbs each.
    I bought 2 sections of aluminum tubing 6' long and 3" dia.
    I have secured the kayaks together using cargo straps as one would do when securing them to a roofrack.
    I have passed each tube through snug fitting holes an aluminum 6"X3"X6' box section.
    To this box section, through both sides I have inserted a 10"long 1" dia S/S bolt backed with washers and fastened tightly to the box section. Onto the end of the bolt I placed my center board.
    The center board is a 1'X4' alauminum plate with wood fastened to it and shaped into a clean foil shape. It is free to rotate if it strikes the bottom and then is pulled back down by strong rubber shock cords. I have placed it at a point I hope is just forward of my sails center of effort to get a bit of weather helm. It would be no trouble to move it if I need too.
    My sail is a windsurfer North Sails 6.5. I know this is a very large sail for this type of craft, but I already had it just collecting dust in the shed, same wirh the two Kayaks. So I'm going to try to use it. I'm to old to windsurf any longer and a mild case of Parkinse has me needing to sit down when I sail.