Autonomous Trimaran

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by jspring, May 3, 2015.

1. jspring

jspring New Member

Hello, I'm a computer science student who has an interesting in autonomous boats. My knowledge of boat design is rather limited and I was hoping I could draw on all of your knowledge to assist me in a project. The project is to prototype a autonomous marine research platform.

I've been curious if a motor powered trimaran hull would be appropriate for a boat under 2 metres and what advantages and disadvantages it might have over its competitors (monohull and catamaran) at this size range.

From my understanding of a trimaran they are as stable as it can get which is ideal for some scientific equipment. More importantly from what I gather they can be a lot more energy efficient which is a key factor for autonomous vessels. However is this still efficiency still present at this size range?

Cheers,
    Jordan

2. pbmaise

pbmaise Senior Member

Does autonomous mean electric motor with solar panels?

I suggest accepting the fact it will be rolled by big waves.

Keel seems essential to me. A trimaran for width and surface area for solar panel and center hull with keel. When a wave crashes from above, the solars need to tilt nearly vertical.

3. Mr Efficiency

Mr Efficiency Senior Member

Nothing 2 metres long could be depended on to stay upright in open waters, or if you made it so it was, would probably be quite poor in performance. I think you need to specify what the duty parameters are.

4. lucdekeyser

lucdekeyser Senior Member

pretty smart engineering in the saildrone http://www.saildrone.com/
    Is a stabilized monohull.
    I see advantages using this technology in a pacific proa configuration . It would be handy to be able to reverse course easily when caught in ocean crud.

5. cavalier mk2

cavalier mk2 Senior Member