42ft racing trimaran

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by gosailing, Oct 16, 2010.

1. gosailing

gosailing Junior Member

I am building a 42ft tri primarily for offshore racing in Jamestown, RI. I'm interested in talking with anyone who may be either planning or building a similar size boat. Details of my boat are on my site www.buildatrimaran.com.

The construction is all carbon/epoxy and is infused for the most part. This is career related (I'm a consultant in the composites industry www.bravolab.com). I would welcome any discussion especially related to infusing carbon

2. Doug Lord

Doug Lord Flight Ready

Project 42

Very interesting design and I like your philosophy as well:
    "Although its not intended to launch the boat with foils there will be the provision in the structure to add them later. Although, in the past, I have had some checkered experiences with foils, I believe they are, no doubt, the future of fast efficient sailing. "
    I think both Sodebo and Idec were originally built without foils(but with the supporting structure,I think) and have now added them so it sure is a viable way to proceed.
    I initially thought your main hull might have been designed to plane but I think I was wrong after looking closer at the sections.
    I hope you'll keep the forum advised of your progress. I haven't done any resin infusion and am trying to learn as much about it as possible-been in boat design and boatbuilding a long time but infusion looks like the way to go in a lot of cases.
    Good luck!

3. luckystrike

luckystrike Power Kraut

Dear Phil Stegall,

whow, its a fascinating feeling to chat with a sailing legend.

I'am quite not in your range, as I'am building a 30' trimaran, primarily for offshore racing and basic cruising in the difficult conditiones of the North Sea and the Baltic. My boat is built as a low cost- and low tech boat, having tortured ply amas and a cedar strip plank / plywood composite mainhull.