22m cruising cat design concept

Discussion in 'Multihulls' started by Becaris, Aug 3, 2008.

1. Becaris

Becaris Junior Member

OK, to start with, I am not a yacht designer. I do make a living creating concepts (though until now, not yachts). What this means is that NOTHING about this design is necessarily correct, and I know it. However, there are a few things I'd like to say about what I'm trying to achieve.

I set out to create the concept for a forward flybridge / semi-pilothouse sailing yacht over 20 meters long with a biplane rig. I do not want to turn this design discussion into a discussion about single or biplane rigs. I would rather we discussed what it would take to make a biplane rig work best on a cruising cat this big and other issues with this design.

Beyond the biplane rig, there are other areas of the design that I would be interested in 'why not'. Like the forward flybridge, the nacelle center, various ratios, hull shapes, mast positions, pretty much anything that comes to mind.

I know this does not look like a standard cat, but that's the point of a concept. Let's take a look at something different, and figure out if it could work, and what it would take to make it work.

If suggestions are made that seem good, I will adjust the model and repost pictures. So, here goes... take a look... discuss away... have some fun.

(These screenshots are now old, if you look deeper in the post there are new pictures with changes suggested by other readers).

Attached Files:

Last edited: Aug 10, 2008
  2. rwatson

rwatson Senior Member

I think the design has some interesting aspects.

I wondered if the 'downstairs' forward windows would be better off with an inward slope from the 'flydeck'.

The 'step' caused by the jump from the downstairs windows spoils a nice aerodynamic shape.

3. sandy daugherty

sandy daugherty Senior Member