Motor Sailors

Discussion in 'Motorsailers' started by dlynch, Dec 18, 2003.

1. dlynch

dlynch Junior Member

Hello all

I'm a student studying 2nd year Bsc (Hons) Yacht Manufacturing and Surveying at the Southampton Institute.

At the moment i am researching for info into Motorsailor designs with full spec and propulsion details.

If any one knows of sources, i would be grateful.

Dave Lynch

2. Tad

Tad Boat Designer

d;

The question is, "what's a motorsailor?"

There is a book, long out of print, called Motorsailors, by Dag Pike, published by Stanford Maritime in the UK in 1976.

All the best, Tad

3. Stephen Ditmore

Stephen Ditmore Senior Member

You might also look at books by Jay Benford or containing the work of William Garden or Laurent Giles.

4. dlynch

dlynch Junior Member

Thank you for your help.

Yes i found the Dag Pike book, which contains a lot of useful info.

Also i came across the Laurent Giles one as well.

Thanks.

My project is based apon what a Motor Sailor is, as the desgins have changed over the years.

Dave Lynch

5. Unregistered

Unregistered Guest

I'm an older woman owner of a beautifull 50' motorsailor, my dear Davy I would love to show you around the more comfortable parts of my vessel ?

6. Unregistered

Unregistered Guest

Obsolete distinction

In my opinion, the auxiliaries of today are the motorsailers of yesteryear--hp per ton, beam, width of transom and flatness of run have increased to the point where the categories of motorsailer and auxiliary have merged. Throw in a pilot house, as is becoming more common, and there you are.

Oldsalt

7. dlynch

dlynch Junior Member

Thank you older woman motorsailor owner. unfortunately at the moment my studies come first.

I may get back to you for a sail at some stage.

8. brian eiland

brian eiland Senior Member

9. dougseabird

dougseabird New Member