Spirit Of Balto Launched

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by alaskatrawler, Dec 6, 2006.

1. alaskatrawler

alaskatrawler Previous Member

Hello All

It has been a long time since I last posted to this forum. The last six months were a flurry of activity involving the launch and the finishing out of my steel trawler that I have been building for the last 4 1/2 years. It has been a long but very rewarding project. I have to say that as much as I look forward to cruising I will miss the work involvement I had in building this beautiful vessel.
    What remains to be done is build the mast and jib for the tender. I am now docked in Tacoma Washington where I am living aboard. This spring I will head North to my home state of Alaska. I am including a couple photos of Balto during launch and underway.

Regards
    DanWalsh

Attached Files:

2 people like this.
  2. Rusty Bucket

Rusty Bucket Junior Member

Really nice looking boat! It must have been a rush to finally get her in the water and underway. I spent a good portion of my life building boats like yours for other people and I can really appreciate your tenacity. I know of one steel sailboat hull I built for a guy 30 years ago that still isn't finished, so 4.5 years ain't bad! Well done, Rusty

Last edited: Mar 5, 2007
  3. alaskatrawler

Thanks for the compliment. It truly is a rush to finally be closing in on the finish line.
    As of this writing I've been building the mast. Been doing mockups of various styles. I really like the salty look of a mast with a crows nest so have decided to build it with a crows nest. I copped out on the idea of building my own davit and instead am going to buy a custom hydraulic unit. I will post some pictures as I get further along.

Thanks Again
    Dan

4. timgoz

timgoz Senior Member

Dan,

Nice work. Where you living in AK? I spent a summer skiff camping on the north end of Prince of Wales Island. Hopefully I will spend my later years in SE AK.

Take care.

TGoz