Naval 'Architecture'

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by willace, Jan 2, 2005.

1. willace

willace New Member

Hi all,

I'm an architecture student working on a floating building project, with an aluminium 'hull'. Basically, I'd like to know how aluminum panels are actually connected to eachother, how they are supported back to a frame, how they are sealed, and any useful information for a novice boat-building-builder.

Pictures or drawings would be really useful, so if anyone knows a good website or has any basic technical drawings I'd be really grateful if you could spare a few seconds to email them to me!

Thanks, and Happy new Year to you all!

Will Gray

2. willace

willace New Member

Some pictures if you're interested...

just noticed the 'attach files' button

Attached Files:

3. jehardiman

jehardiman Senior Member

First.. you had better find out which side of the laws you're going to come down on, there have been some recent changes to the status of "fixed" floating structures.

Second...you better have euro's to burn if you want that bright finished or smooth. Better to start with stainless or monel, cheaper in the long run also.

Last edited: Jan 2, 2005
  4. Dutch Peter

Dutch Peter Senior Member

Aluminium is generally welded in the boatbuilding industry, in aviation it is glued and riveted. In the same way the frames are connected to the panels.
    After welding, or glueing, there is no sealing nessecairy.
    You can find a lot of usefull info on this forum, try the search option en ask more guestions.

Pictures, drawings of what??

5. willace

willace New Member

Thanks for the info Dutch Peter,

Basically I have to produce technical construction drawings for my project (illustrating panel thickness, connection methods, etc, at about 1:5 scale) But I guess you already know how it all works from real life experience rather than drawings.