bushing inserts into aluminum plate

Discussion in 'Metal Boat Building' started by Charly, May 14, 2014.

1. Charly

Charly Senior Member

Hey guys, my plans call for bushing inserts in the chainplates and the rigging plate on the bow beam of my cat build.
    more about it here:
    http://www.boatdesign.net/forums/boat-building/kurt-hughes-daycharter-36-a-31846-22.html#post687410

I have very little experience working with metals, but I figured I might be able to do this at home, on site. Over at onlinemetals they have some 1/2" 316 ss round stock, and some seamless tubing that has an id about 005" larger, so I figure to use the round stock instead of a clevis pin, and cut the tubing to length for the bushing.
    I thought that I might simply freeze the pin inside the bushing overnight, in the refrigerator, and bore a hole in the aluminum piece, and then stick it inside before it warms back up., making a good tight fit. Though I 've never done this it seems straightforward enough.

Some questions I still have, and would appreciate any answers:

Is there anything special with this techniques I should look out for or be aware of?
    What about galvanics? best way to insulate aluminum from 316 ss?
    Is there a better choice of metal for the bushing and pin?
    I already cut the plate to shape with a jig saw (its 3/4 inch stock) how to best polish out the saw marks?
    Does it really matter to polish out the saw marks?
    Thanks!

2. upchurchmr

upchurchmr Senior Member

Polishing saw marks out of aluminum matters a lot if you want long life.
    Aluminum tends to start a crack at such a feature then slowly progress over the life of the boat until it fails.
    A boat gets lots of load cycles in waves as the mast bounces around.

Sand them out, then polish to a shine. Doesn't have to be a real good shine.

3. waikikin

waikikin Senior Member

Got a belt sander? work around the chainplates with tat along the cut edges.

Jeff.

4. Charly

Charly Senior Member