Boat Design Forums  |  Boat Design Directory  |  Boat Design Gallery  |  Boat Design Book Store  |  Thanks to Our Site Sponsors

Go Back   Boat Design Forums > Construction > Boatbuilding > Metal Boat Building
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-03-2010, 11:05 AM
alidesigner alidesigner is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Rep: 93 Posts: 171
Location: Australia
Beware of Fakes

Guys I posted similar in the design section but thought it should go here too.

There is a boat builder in China that is basically cutitng and pasting from all different web sites (including ours) and marketing these plate boats as their own. They are even combining words from one site with pictures from another.

So if anyone is tempted to buy a kit or design from China be carefull.
__________________
Steve Chapple
www.cncmarine.com.au
Consulting & Alloy Kit Boats
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-03-2010, 07:02 PM
welderbob welderbob is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Rep: 25 Posts: 13
Location: Holbrook NY
My local competition took a retired builders name (they didn't buy it) and scanned his brochure. The used his reputation and brochure to call themselves a 30 yr. old company. It took about three years of pressure to get them to take down the web sight.
Now one of my former employees has taken a deposit to build a 35; twin diesel work boat. He has no plans,architect,employees,money,equipment. He has never built an inboard boat.
Doesn't anybody do there home work before they spend your tax dollars?
Moral of the story, you don't have to go to china to get taken.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-03-2010, 07:27 PM
mydauphin mydauphin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Rep: 501 Posts: 1,767
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by welderbob View Post
My local competition took a retired builders name (they didn't buy it) and scanned his brochure. The used his reputation and brochure to call themselves a 30 yr. old company. It took about three years of pressure to get them to take down the web sight.
Now one of my former employees has taken a deposit to build a 35; twin diesel work boat. He has no plans,architect,employees,money,equipment. He has never built an inboard boat.
Doesn't anybody do there home work before they spend your tax dollars?
Moral of the story, you don't have to go to china to get taken.
Don't worry they will be out of business soon, they are undercutting you, but they do not know what they are doing. The problem with government and any large contracts is that they give it to a friend or a friend of friend. The bid process is rigged from day one, then when whole thing falls apart they cover it all up if they can and they have to pay you to fix it. Such is government contracting.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-03-2010, 07:43 PM
CatBuilder CatBuilder is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Rep: 1308 Posts: 3,040
Location: With Apex1
Steve, I've ready all your posts, but where is the link to the Chinese site so we can all have a good laugh??
__________________
Kurt Hughes was right about this place.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-03-2010, 07:58 PM
mydauphin mydauphin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Rep: 501 Posts: 1,767
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by CatBuilder View Post
Steve, I've ready all your posts, but where is the link to the Chinese site so we can all have a good laugh??
Or better yet we all ask them complicated questions they can't answer..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-03-2010, 08:33 PM
apex1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Here are these shabby suckers:

http://www.uidyacht.com/abouthistory.htm

They even use the name of one of the most famous design companies in the Netherlands.

Diana Yacht Design

And here another victim:

Unauthorised use of Name - False affirmation

Regards
Richard
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-03-2010, 10:13 PM
ancient kayaker ancient kayaker is offline
aka Terry Haines
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Rep: 1814 Posts: 3,009
Location: Alliston, Ontario, Canada
They obviously don't know how to use a spell checker ...
__________________
"Boats are like rabbits; you can have one boat or many, but you can't stop at two" - A. Onassis
Boat designs: "a convoluted collection of discontinuous compromise" - Par
". . . ere the end, some work of noble note, may yet be done . . ." -Tennyson
Dances with Turkeys
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-03-2010, 10:31 PM
alidesigner alidesigner is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Rep: 93 Posts: 171
Location: Australia
Yeah these guys are also using the name of a well respected shipyard.
__________________
Steve Chapple
www.cncmarine.com.au
Consulting & Alloy Kit Boats
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-03-2010, 11:49 PM
Alik's Avatar
Alik Alik is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Rep: 1070 Posts: 2,036
Location: Thailand
The worst thing the 'designer' can make is to use others designs to market his services.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-08-2010, 05:54 AM
tunnels tunnels is offline
old one !
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Rep: 402 Posts: 1,913
Location: china is great and interesting !!
Quote:
Originally Posted by alidesigner View Post
Yeah these guys are also using the name of a well respected shipyard.
Sound like a lot of sour grapes to me ! Get over it !! Anything that goes on the net is fare game !! Get on with living !!.
If you have a good idea dont even tell your mrs keep it to yourself and take it to the grave . If you are stupid enough to feed them info and they take pictures then go away and build a boat that looks like your design who's the silly one ??
I work with a bunch of Chinese every day of the week !!
__________________
Making beautiful boats is a passion never a chore !
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-08-2010, 07:44 AM
ancient kayaker ancient kayaker is offline
aka Terry Haines
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Rep: 1814 Posts: 3,009
Location: Alliston, Ontario, Canada
The Chinese themselves need to address this problem, or it will become their problem. The web community can react very quickly to abuse and it is easy for a backlash to get going. Original designers can simply state they are not associated with any Chinese company and streetsmart customers will simply check such claims when considering a Chinese source. A list of bogus or copycat companies and their websites can easily be set up, the word will go around. Guilt by association is an automatic human reaction and respectable and responsible Chinese companies will find business getting harder to find. Fix it, China!
__________________
"Boats are like rabbits; you can have one boat or many, but you can't stop at two" - A. Onassis
Boat designs: "a convoluted collection of discontinuous compromise" - Par
". . . ere the end, some work of noble note, may yet be done . . ." -Tennyson
Dances with Turkeys
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-18-2010, 09:20 AM
Robbo Robbo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Rep: 1 Posts: 25
Location: WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by tunnels View Post
Sound like a lot of sour grapes to me ! Get over it !! Anything that goes on the net is fare game !! Get on with living !!.
If you have a good idea dont even tell your mrs keep it to yourself and take it to the grave . If you are stupid enough to feed them info and they take pictures then go away and build a boat that looks like your design who's the silly one ??
I work with a bunch of Chinese every day of the week !!
I smell a troll. No wonder the world is running out of exclamation marks-tunnels used them all up in one post.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We love Ferro cement but beware ! manta.bay Boat Design 198 11-27-2010 09:08 PM
Beware of Cruising World Magazine. timgoz Open Discussion: All Things Boats & Boating 30 05-15-2010 07:17 PM
BEWARE Neglect! lewisboats Wooden Boat Building and Restoration 6 10-12-2008 10:20 AM
Beware of this people (Equadhoo Investment Private Limited) gamage Open Discussion: All Things Boats & Boating 1052 05-13-2008 02:47 AM
Duratec Over Epoxy... BEWARE! Capt. Chris Materials 1 04-08-2005 10:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Web Site Design and Content Copyright ©1999 - 2012 Boat Design Net