Polyester gelcoats and porosity

Discussion in 'Materials' started by bigjonny9, Nov 13, 2014.

1. bigjonny9

bigjonny9 Junior Member

I am interested in producing bathroom vanities. I have done a little research to find that there are not to many companies actually producing fiberglass vanities. I am a qualified boat builder and have dealt with polys/vinyls and epoxys for years. However I feel like I am missing something fundamental. I notice that there are plenty of companies offering fiberglass baths and shower surrounds but not vanities..My thought is that the gelcoats could be to porous and that they could stain easy? therefore having issues with warranties? I do understand that there are acrylics and plastics out there but I know I could build plugs and fiberglass moulds and products relatively cheaply so what am I missing?

2. gonzo

gonzo Senior Member

I think that gelcoat is softer and stains easier than the acrylic.

3. ondarvr

ondarvr Senior Member

There are many thousands being made with gel coat every day. The cultured marble industry makes counter tops, sinks, bathtubs, showers, etc. from polyesters by casting them from a thickened mixture. Any large box store has many on the floor every day.

This industry has taken a big downturn over the last 6-8 years with many players leaving the market.

The cost of a sink made with fiberglass tends to be higher and the market won't support it. There is a small market for them in boats and RVs because the cast versions are significantly heavier. Most builders make them themselves for these applications.

4. rxcomposite

rxcomposite Senior Member