Core Suggestion for Moldless(?) Hull

Discussion in 'Materials' started by solarboater, Nov 29, 2005.

1. solarboater

solarboater Junior Member

I'm a senior mechanical engineering student building a double-hull solar-powered boat for a design competition. I've been doing a lot of reading and I am leaning toward a moldless layup using kevlar and fiberglass and im curious about what the best core material would be. I've read that polyurethane foam is the way to go, but I am wondering if regular rigid pink insulation foam will be good enough. I've read its more friable and not quite as good to work with, but can we make it work?

Also, is there a strong reason not to be doing a moldless construction? It seems to me that since we're planning on having foam-encased fiberglass hull, we'll be ok making the moldless hulls. I realize ill be sacrificing consistency between the two hulls and we'll have to do more to finish the surface, but are these reasons to change my plan?

I'd appreciate any insight. Thanks.

2. Valkyrie

Valkyrie Glass Dude

3. yokebutt

yokebutt Boatbuilder

Sure, for a quick-and-dirty boat with a very limited service life you can use styrofoam. Polyester resin will melt the foam, so use epoxy.

Start by rigging up a flat table big enough to make the largest panel, and skin the rough-cut foam panels with glass on one side. Fit and fasten the foam panels to the jig with the glass skin facing inward. Fair the joints between the panels to your liking, then laminate glass over the entire outside surface. Fair the hull, pop it off the mold, and tape over the joints on the inside.

Wouldn't recommend straying too far offshore, but for testing ideas on the cheap it's a good construction technique. If you want a more durable boat, substitute the styrofoam with a proper core foam.

Good luck,
    Yoke.

4. marshmat

marshmat Senior Member